Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
5

Ribcast 20

Radio East Graduation Pot Cookies Wedding Mothers Day
5

My Crazy Mama Is A Complicated Joy 

My crazy mama is a complicated joy

Raised on grief and belief in the all-mighty

Wrong from right is a fluid state despite 

Our human propensity for making mistakes

In the face of piety 

She taught me how to

Dance and sing 

Clean my plate, my room, 

And the kitchen

Use a broom

Laugh through the gloom

Trust yourself to be who you are

Be tough and fair, wash your clothes and your hair

(when I had it, anyway)

How to Cook, read a book

Stand tall no matter how shook 

If you don't know, look it up

In the sky

See the shapes shift as they go by

Shell peas and eat’em

Keep friends

Lose enemies 

Greet’em all with a “Hey y’all”

Or a “bless your heart”

Finish what ya start

Do as I say, not as I do

But, Mama, come on 

I learned so much just by watching you

I know you feel like you weren’t the best 

You could be

But there’s no mama in the world who 

doesn’t feel that way

You’ll always be the best to me

I’m so lucky to be your boy

What else can I say

Always and forever

Discussion about this podcast

Shinyribs
Ribcast: The Shinyribs Podcast
Mr. Ribs makes mountains out of molehills, hay outta horse’s mouths, something outta nothing. Behind the scenes, long form tangents of uncommon grace and courage. Always a new song, unreleased song, outtakes from legendary recordings, etc